The Best Guys • 3493 Clayton Road, Concord, CA 945190
• Monday to Friday 9AM to 5:30PM • Saturday 9AM to 5:00PM

• Give us a call at Phone: 925.356.6909 • Fax 925.969.9456

Reviews from Yelp!

 

11/16/2016

                                             Gary H.
Lafayette, CA

Update

11/16/16:

Dave called me out of the blue and offered to redo the windows free of charge. He also informed me the guy who did my car was no longer with the company. Unfortunately, I did sell the car, but Dave let me know that they would still honor the offer for the new owner. Definitely made me reconsider taking my new car to Best Guys if they have a different tint technician. Best prices in town as stated in my last review.

 

Previous review

7/18/2015

Friendly service. Very good prices. Got some tint for my car. Can't really be too picky considering they were less than half the price of the competitors for the same performance film. However, those who are very picky will notice quite a few imperfections in the installation. I noticed multiple lint and debris between the window and the tint. Luckily I pointed it out before taking the car away and Dave said they'd fix one window which had a large chunk of red something between the tint and the window. Looks great now.
However, there was one piece of something that was between the drivers side tint and window. The tint installer grabbed a plastic knife from who knows where and wrapped it in a spare napkin and began scraping at the window to see if he could lessen the bubble. The bubble did lessen, however now there are some light scratches in the new tint. I figured, I was already being picky enough so I let it slide. I was also hoping that the tint might heat shrink back during the summer heat. Not the case.
Also, when I bought the car, the back windows and rear window were tinted. After inspecting that tint, I could only find one piece of debris between the tint and window on 5 panes. Best guys had easily 5 pieces of debris and lint on the front 2 windows.

All in all, I don't think I can complain about the job as I did go with the cheapest bidder for the film I wanted, and Dave had one window redone when I pointed out a large flaw. Staff was very friendly and did a bunch of demos with tint and stereo. They also had good prices on speakers as well. If you want cheap and usable tint, I'd say go to Best Guys. However, if you have a keen eye for detail and would rather have the best, I'd suggest saving up a few hundred more and going somewhere else. 4 stars for customer service and pricing. Just too bad the installation wasn't perfect, but you get what you pay for.

 

Comment from DAVID F. of The Best Guys

8/22/2015

Dear Brian,
Thank you for your comments. Because you paid less does not mean you will receive less. Please call us to schedule re-tinting to correct your issues


 

10/27/2016

                                             Gary H.
Concord, CA

Got my new stereo installed yesterday. They did a great job. Very helpful when helping me choose the stereo I wanted. Went over features and I'm confident I made a informed decision. Didn't push me into something I didn't need showed me all the differences of the 3 stereos I was thinking about and we went for the middle one in cost and features. I went to frys 3 times and couldn't even get someone to help me. My buddy said go to the best guys! I wasn't aware they were around anymore because they moved. I'm so grateful they are still around after all these years. They really are the best. Why go to a big box retailer when you can spend the same amount and get the service from a mom and pop. Couldn't be happier and will be back soon for some more work. Highly recommend!!

 

9/29/2016

                                             DeeDee H.
Concord, CA

Disclaimer : I did not have work done here.  Review was only based on a phone call.
I called around for pricing on tinting my 2013 Honda. The guy asked the year and model, and said I would have to pay extra because " you bought it from Concord Honda, they put thermal films on every car... we have to clean it all up before putting on a new one".  I was shock, " No, my car looks clear and with no film". " No, you bought it from Concord Honda, they put them on every car, you just can't see it."
I was completely puzzled.  So I called Concord Honda.  They looked up my record, talked to the Service Manager, and Sales Manager.  They sounded upset, " Who in the community is spreading rumors about our dealership? #1 your car does not come with manufacturer installed thermal film, #2 you did not order to have them put on, #3 as a dealership, we cannot and will not modify any car in anyway without the customer's approval. Maybe someone just want to milk more money from you?  I would say, run!" Ran I did.

 

Comment from DAVID F. of The Best Guys

10/6/2016

Hi Dee Dee, I am sorry that I did not make myself clear.   Perma-Plate that is an upholstery protection spray not a film that some times unintentionally gets on the rear window. This adds extra time to remove however we remain competitively priced in the industry. Please call 925 356 6909 so I may apologize for not making myself clear.
David


 

9/29/2016

                                             Marceline Q.
Richmond, CA

Great, fast, friendly tinting service! Even recommended an awesome lunch spot.

They even tuned my stereo settings and swayed me to KEEP my factory speakers over aftermarket ones because they sounded so good. I've been here several times and will continue to purchase the goods and services.

 

9/26/2016

                                             Rob J.
Richmond, CA

Let me tell you something... I am not one who writes reviews but I had my car in there about 8 years ago and the product that was put in my car after a few years started bubbling up. I kept putting it off because I thought I would have to pay for having it removed and reinstalled and I just didn't have the money or the time. I finally went down there to talk to them because I found the warranty card in my glove box and they gave me an appointment for the very next morning which was awesome because they were two weeks out when my husband had called to inquire. It was at no cost to me, because of the warranty. They spent an entire day trying to get it off because it was glued on pretty well. They did not give up, they did not stop and tell me to bring it back, they did not keep it in there the rest of the weekend and go back to it on Monday...they stayed on it until the job was done, and they called me as soon as they were done. I could not be happier with the work that they did..they were awesome and I will recommend them to anyone who asks me. They were very sweet guys...the best guys...I kid you not!!!

 

8/25/2016

                                             Rhonda M.
Concord, CA

I am amazed at the service and value I received at the best guys. I walked in and hour later I had a new beautiful stereo perfect for my car for less than everywhere else. These guys are totally awesome!

 

8/18/2016

                                             Brandon H.
Pittsburg, CA

These guys were great! Asked for some help and they helped me get everything I was looking for! Got an in dash receiver with bluetooth and all. Took very little time and looks great too. Thanks to the Best Guys!!

 

7/10/2016

                                             Alexander P.
Marietta, GA

Great and friendly service. They even offered to drive me home as they were tinting my windows. The job came out great and they offer a lifetime warranty.

 

6/21/2016

                                             Sara G.
Concord, CA

The stock stereo in my VW was messed up when I bought my car. Being a 2004, it didn't have all the bells and whistles that new stereos have, like Bluetooth and Pandora. The radio antenna adapter was broken by the last person to work on the car. The only thing that worked was the tape deck, which I hooked an adaptor to, that ran to my phone and ate up my monthly data allowance. I went to a big box store and was met with blank stares about the antenna.

After going through the list of parts, the owner came and told me he could just solder a new connection but AM might not work.

This weekend I picked up my car. How I wish I did this a year and a half ago, when I bought the car. The big box store quoted $387, but the install wouldn't have been done correctly. At $450, I'm thrilled with the quality of the install and Kenwood stereo! The installer came out and showed me how the stereo worked when he was done. The AM also works because oof the quality of the solder job. My daughter's car needs a tint and stereo and I will be returning.

 

5/10/2016

                                             Hayden Z.
Antioch, CA

I had my windows tinted this past weekend and the job looks fantastic! The staff was very friendly and thorough. They completed the job in about half the time quoted to me. I was able to correspond with the staff via email to ask questions and get an initial quote on the job. I would recommend them without hesitation!

 

3/29/2016

                                             Daniel B.
Vallejo, CA

Two things really stood out to me about this place:
1 - They are honest. Originally I was going to replace the original subwoofer that came with my car with something a little nicer but without doing a complete overhaul - during the install they called me at work and told me you could barely hear the difference with the new sub and that they didn't really recommend it. Cut my bill in half!

2 - They get the job done and stand behind their work. My car also came with a bass rattle in the trunk, so I had them treat it with dynamat. When I came to pick up the car, they came out with me and had me check it. With my test music (different from what they had used) and the volume all the way up, I was still able to get a little rattle out of it.  Three guys spent the next hour out there with me tracking down where it was coming from and getting it perfect. I was very impressed with the level of service and things are sounding great now!

 

2/22/2016

                                             Phil B.
Concord, CA

I've always came here for all my car audio purchases and installation. They've never hassled me to upgrade or take advantage of me in any way. Recently I brought my brand new 2016 Malibu in and they were able to get me in the next day for Window tint and finished the job way earlier then I was told! Great customer service and a great finished product! I will be bringing my 1989 IROC Camaro in there very soon!

 

2/11/2016

                                             Eric W.
Walnut Creek, CA

I've taken my audi here a number of times for various things. I had them install my sound system, stereo, window tint, and clear bra a number of carbon fiber pieces for me. Always top notch service, on time, guaranteed work, and reasonable.

See you guys soon about my next carbon fiber piece that needs clear bra. ;)

 

2/2/2016

                                             Dan M.
Antioch, CA

This place was referred by the Infiniti dealer in Concord since they send their cars there.   Needed advice on the shade and how much tint for my car windows. They were helpful and the car turned out looking beautiful without being over tinted.

 

1/31/2016

                                             Robert W.
Crockett, CA

Okay....how rare is it to be excited about visiting a place that has to fix or install something in your car?  In my experience it is uber rare.  So my son gets a 1974 F250 as his first car (serious project truck) that he saved up for for years.  He has been working on fixing it up and it has a number of little issues as you could imagine.  He gets some money for Christmas and buys a stereo and set of speakers.  Then of course he finds out that he really cant install them himself.  He goes down to the Best Guys audio on a recommendation from Yelpers and 4 hours later picks his truck up with not only his stereo installed but all of the electrical issues (which are many) fixed as well.  24 hours later he also figures out that they fixed his heater too.  I have never seen him so excited and impressed by a business that went out of there way to really help him out in taking another step in completing all of the little things you have to fix when you buy a project vehicle like his.  These guys are amazing....you will not be sorry if you have them do the work you need done on your car or truck. Above and beyond normal customer service.....great job!

 

11/1/2015

                                             Simply G.
Pleasant Hill, CA

I am a return customer.  I've had 2 SUV's and 1 sedan completely tinted (7 separate windows on the sedan).  The first tint was done in 2007 and when I sold the vehicle in 2013 it still looked like a factory tint.  I've had the clear bra installed on an SUV in 2013 and get a ton of compliments from the people that actually notice that it is on.  I can't comment on what it will be like after it comes off though.

I've also had a Wet Sounds system installed on my boat.  It not only sounds incredible, but the install is top notch.  They went as far as replacing screws that weren't part of their install because the screws were starting to rust, I appreciate that attention to detail.

Support your local business, I am certain you will be glad that you did.

 

9/1/2015

                                             Chris P.
Martinez, CA

Had the windows in my lexus ls400 tinted. They did a great job, perfect! My vehicle is notoriously difficult to tint because of the back heat lines in the window. These guys did it for a low price and it turned out great. I could have picked it up the same day, but I had to work. So they parked the car inside their shop over night. It worked out really good.

The (other tint company) on monument Blvd told me to pound rocks. That other company wouldn't touch my car with a ten foot poll. That (other company on Monument Blvd) said Lexus' are too difficult.

But Best Guys did a fantastic job. Wil even should me how to replace my defective sun visors free of charge.

 

7/18/2015

                                             Michael C.
Walnut Creek, CA

Friendly service. Very good prices. Got some tint for my car. Can't really be too picky considering they were less than half the price of the competitors for the same performance film. However, those who are very picky will notice quite a few imperfections in the installation. I noticed multiple lint and debris between the window and the tint. Luckily I pointed it out before taking the car away and Dave said they'd fix one window which had a large chunk of red something between the tint and the window. Looks great now.
However, there was one piece of something that was between the drivers side tint and window. The tint installer grabbed a plastic knife from who knows where and wrapped it in a spare napkin and began scraping at the window to see if he could lessen the bubble. The bubble did lessen, however now there are some light scratches in the new tint. I figured, I was already being picky enough so I let it slide. I was also hoping that the tint might heat shrink back during the summer heat. Not the case.
Also, when I bought the car, the back windows and rear window were tinted. After inspecting that tint, I could only find one piece of debris between the tint and window on 5 panes. Best guys had easily 5 pieces of debris and lint on the front 2 windows.

All in all, I don't think I can complain about the job as I did go with the cheapest bidder for the film I wanted, and Dave had one window redone when I pointed out a large flaw. Staff was very friendly and did a bunch of demos with tint and stereo. They also had good prices on speakers as well. If you want cheap and usable tint, I'd say go to Best Guys. However, if you have a keen eye for detail and would rather have the best, I'd suggest saving a few hundred more and going somewhere else. 4 stars for customer service and pricing. Just too bad the installation was perfect, but you get what you pay for.

 

7/1/2015

Michael C.
Walnut Creek, CA

I purchased a new auto stereo and XM radio from The Best Guys. Their approach to sales is "no pressure" and they answered all my questions thoroughly before I made the purchase. The XM radio module for my 4-Runner was not in stock, but they were able to get one within 2 days. The installation took about half a day, but following the installation, they walked me thoroughly through the operation of the stereo and radio and all their features. And I was told that if I ever had any questions about the operation of my unit, I could call them or drop by their shop and they would answer all my questions. I wished all businesses that I deal with would have customer service like this. I highly recommend The Best Guys because they truly are!

 

6/27/2015

Ketpah E.
Walnut Creek, CA

The Best Guys changed my car stereo. I could not be happier. I was determined to change the speakers as well, but they honestly told me that is not necessary. I loved their knowledge, honesty, and good service. 4 years ago, I had used their service as well. Totally satisfied and recommended.

 

11/9/2014

Brian H.
Walnut Creek, CA

I purchased a new auto stereo and XM radio from The Best Guys. Their approach to sales is "no pressure" and they answered all my questions thoroughly before I made the purchase. The XM radio module for my 4-Runner was not in stock, but they were able to get one within 2 days. The installation took about half a day, but following the installation, they walked me thoroughly through the operation of the stereo and radio and all their features. And I was told that if I ever had any questions about the operation of my unit, I could call them or drop by their shop and they would answer all my questions. I wished all businesses that I deal with would have customer service like this. I highly recommend The Best Guys because they truly are!

 

10/21/2014

C M.
San Ramon, CA

Friendly, professional and quick!!
Great place for tinting. I have used them for 3 cars and never had an issue!!

 

10/8/2014

James M.
East Bay, CA

These guys are great. Gave me a great deal, worked with the OEM manufacturer, and made sure the job was done right. I've had my windows tinted, navigation and back up camera installed and have been happy with their work. Will go there before anywhere else.

 

7/13/2014

Steven P.
Walnut Creek, CA

I sent them an email to get a quote for the cost to tint my 98 Accord and received a prompt reply the following business day.  They were fully booked on the upcoming weekend so we scheduled for the next Saturday.

After receiving my tint I was instructed precisely on what to do for the next few days while the tint baked.  Overall, I am very happy with the tint job that they performed.  Great professional people work here, i would highly recommend them.

 

6/9/2014

Gabe F.
Danville, CA

These guys have done sound systems and tint in both cars I've owned and have done a spectacular job. If there's anything that you don't see perfect with they will do everything they can to stand by their work and make it perfect.

 

6/1/2014

Nick W.
Concord, CA

Everybody knows that quality and profession beats quantity and a lesson so no need to look around me and my friends been going here my whole life for one reason we want it done right the first time and with quality equipment I got two JL 12's and lemme tell ya first off nobody else stocks JL audio like the best guys do and to me that alone would be enough just to get me there I mean common JL makes the best subs out there and says a lot that other stores like Gm and best buy and all these other knock off shops can't even carry them why would they even attempt to open a car stereo shop without any JL audio subs anywhere in there shops and tell me we have to order them and they never even worked on them before just that alone rt there  tells me that they are only sub par shops off the bat!  but after hangin out with the guys who were able to have a good time and accommodate all my questions and we had a fun time all while they still got the work done in a fast manor boy  these guys will never let u down and the quality will exceed ur expectations by far my little ford focus st is now a thumper mobile thanks to the best guys and JL audio all my trips are so much more fun ! Thanks guys I will be back if I ever need anything else for sure 6 stars they even let me show them some moves on my blades ! ;) and they even tested my old amp it worked but was not enough power so Doug got me a whopping deal on a kenwood amp I love it thanks to Doug kJ and Will and even the kid was very nice ! They all new exactly what I wanted and knocked it outta the park god bless and remember u get what u pay for u want quality and precision and a hard hitting head turning system go here don't waste ur time money elsewhere !

 

7/19/2014

Jason D.
Concord, CA

Bought two 12" subs, an amp, inside speakers, a stereo and a car alarm for my car. They were very knowledgeable and helpful and I got a great deal on everything. 
A few years later my car got broken into and my amp got damaged (the thief was luckily caught in the act. by the police and nothing got stolen) They gave me a discount on a new amp and a fair price for the installation. If I ever have trouble with anything they are always happy to talk to me for a bit and help with whatever I need. I have only had good experiences with them. I would not give them a five because they forgot to screw down the sub box to the base of my trunk, and eventually some wires came out from where they should be under the passenger side dash, but they bolted down the box when I came back in after it had been jumping on speedbumps. But those are really minor points.  Would gladly go back to them in the future.

 

6/1/2014

Leo L.
Pittsburg, CA

I've taken a few cars here to get the windows tinted... always had great service this last time I went I took my brand new 2014 chevy volt for tint. well somehow while in their possession a screw damaged one of the tires... they immediately notified me and went to the chevy dealership to get the replacement tire. I thought that this was amazing... not to many honest businesses left out their I probably would have never noticed the tire until it was flat they've definitely earned my business and a loyal spokesperson as well!!!!

 

5/27/2014

Christine T.
San Ramon, CA

Had my MINI Cooper Countryman's windows tinted here.  They were able to take me on a walk-in basis and under 3 hours I had tinted windows.  I appreciated the fact they do not cut-the tint within your car.  No disaster from cut trim pieces.  

When explaining the difference options, they also explain what would or wouldn't be considered legal.  I preferred to stay on the legal side.

Daisy, the dog, gave me a great welcome when I arrived.  

Future needs for window tinting will be done here.


 

1/25/2014

Jeremy C.
Pleasant Hill, CA

I've been using The Best Guys for years.  They have the best customer service in the area. They always stand behind there work!  I have always supported local business, and this place is one of the best family owned and operated shops in the area.

They installed an alarm on my work can with GPS tracking and alarm notification to my cell phone. The system works flawlessly.  The rear door sensor got damaged due to operator error, and they fixed the sensor at no charge!

Pricing is excellent!
Customer service is excellent!
Warranty is excellent!
I highly reccomend The Best Guys!

 

5/11/2014

    Sarah J.
    Walnut Creek, CA

The best car tint hands down! This is the second car I have had tinted by them and both turned out amazing. They are reasonable with cost ($120 less than Discovery Tint quoted me) and extremely professional!

 

4/26/2014

Vanessa G.
Bay Point, CA
This review is from Sean: Doug and his team of master mechanics did an awesome job on my Challenger RT. I was impressed with the knowledge and professionalism Doug and his team provided. I had the Kenwood head unit, matte black wrap with a clear bra, halo lights and interior lights installed.  If you're looking for the perfect mechanics who will get the job done right and fast definitely go see Doug.


 

3/19/2014

Melissa W.
Benicia, CA
Amazing service!!! Have taking about 3 cars of my there to have my windows tinted they always do a great job and very friendly . Customer Service is a 10 in my book!!


 

2/15/2014

Jordan W.
Pleasant Hill, CA
My family has been coming to The Best guys for years. Went in this morning thinking I would need new speakers when it turned out it was just adjusted wrong. They did an adjustment for free and I was on my way. Great service!


 

4/1/2014



Jay K.
Dublin, CA
Went there for a an estimate, and was told it would be emailed to me.   Two days later no estimate so called in, they took my email again.  Five days later still no estimate. Apparently they don't need my business.  No shortage of stereo shops around here, so like Jay Z says...On to the next one.

 

Comment from DAVID F. of The Best Guys
Business Owner

4/5/2014

The Best Guys team are sorry that your experience was less than perfect. We do appreciate that we were able to meet you and spend time quoting your installation on your Mercedes. We remember that in addition to hand written prices on a post-it-note you requested an emailed quote.  There is no excuse, your request was mishandled by our employees one thinking the other had responded. Please accept our apology, if we are given a chance again we will do better. David Fugere Owner



 

6/4/2013

Anfrew I.
Pittsburg, CA
My family has been coming to The Best guys for years. Went in this morning thinking I would need new speakers when it turned out it was just adjusted wrong. They did an adjustment for free and I was on my way. Great service!


 

12/10/2012

Robert C.
Concord, CA
Not only is the quality of service great but so is the prices. Plus they always go through the extra work to make sure that your satisfied.
Thank you Best Guys for the excellent work on all of my cars!


 

2/2/2014

Cesar P.
Pittsburg, CA
Called Friday morning to set up an appointment to get my windows tinted and turns out they were able to squeeze me in for the next day. Had to pull a few strings as far as my rides go but it worked out. Dropped it off in the morning and got the call in the afternoon. Windows look great and was well worth the price (which was fair to begin with). Definitely recommend them.  And actually my friend who picked me up is gonna get the windows on his truck tinted this month.
 

1/6/2012

Alexis W.
Danville, CA
Doug, Dave, Bryan and the rest of the team will do whatever it takes to complete the job and to do it right.

I'm not going to say it was a painless process getting the bluetooth to work properly in my car but they worked hard to make sure it happened.

Some issues were crazy issues related to my car, others were not, but they did not give up and in the end wound up switching out the bluetooth for a different brand and  I have had zero issues since.

Good guys, who really take pride in their work.

If you have a problem, let them know. They WILL resolve it.


 

10/29/2010

Michael S.
Pleasant Hill, CA
A few weeks ago, I had my new car windows tinted by The Best Guys, and I documented the process on video & photos in a review that can be viewed here: bit.ly/atJJXB (on my blog HighTechDad.com) .

To summarize briefly, these guys really know what they are doing. They walked me through each step of the window tinting process and carefully and with lots of attention to detail, showed me each and every process that is involved in window tinting as I was watching.

The owner, Dave, is very friendly and explained the philosophy behind the company which has been in business for 25 years. Charlie, the window tinter who did my car tinting, knows his stuff and is very skilled at what he does.

They also do audio/video installations, car alarms, boating A/V and anything electrical that needs to be installed in your auto (or boat).

I recommend looking at my review as it dives deep into how tinting is done.

I would definitely come back to these guys for future windows tinting and may check them out for some other installs for my car.

***A full disclosure is on my review linked above. ***
 

 

3/17/2010

Jeffrey D.
Alamo, CA
Wonderful experience, from start to finish.  I bought my son a 350z for his birthday, and wanted to add a little 'thump' to it before we surprised him.  I checked out installers (only independent-haven't seen great quality from Best Buy, etc.) all over the area.  Walked into Best Guys and spoke with Jim.  He was low-key, didn't try and oversell, and didn't flinch when I told him I had some of my own gear I wanted installed.  Fast-forward a couple of weeks...I had the install done yesterday.  Super clean, super tight, and it sounds incredible.  One of the guys from the shop gave me a ride back when I dropped off the car, and picked me up when it was done.  I honestly wish I could get service of this level everywhere I went.

And cool dogs (labs, I think?) in the shop.


 

   

 

Family Owned since 1985

• The Best Guys is a family owned Contra Costa County based car audio and window tinting store. We have been providing Concord, Walnut Creek, Pleasant Hill,Pittsburg
, Antioch, Martinez, Benicia, Brentwood and the Contra Costa County with the correct and least expensive solutions for cars and boats. We have been specializing in radio, speaker and amplifier systems since 1985.

Professional Installation

• The Best Guys provide customers with top name brand car and boat audio stereo and video products, all installed by our in house professional installation team. We also do window tinting, boat stereo and tower base systems. All backed up with a factory warranty and our lifetime guarantee on all work performed.

Contact Us

The Best Guys
3493 Clayton Road
Concord, CA 94519

Phone: (925) 356-6909
Fax: (925) 969-9456

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.